2014 Came In With….The Flu???

   So I was pretty excited about our NYE plans…except they didnt turn out quite like I expected.I told my close friend’s father and Uncle, they didn’t look rapey…if that’s appropriate to say to somebody, but you had to be there for the conversation that brought a response like that up LOL. The next day I was ringing in the New Year beside the porcelain throne and it wasn’t because I was hungover, which I originally thought. I woke up, looked over at my friend and was like ugh I’m gonna be sick. Big dash to the bathroom. I was correct, unfortunately. However it came to my mind that maybe it was more than spiced rum when I couldn’t stomach water. Whenever my sugar is high or I’m hungover, or feeling “off”, I swear by Evian. Its like miracle water. Its got to be Evian though. Well that’s how I knew something wasn’t right when a mouth full of Evian had me on my knees. 

   Having type 1 diabetes and the flu isn’t a good combination. Nobody wants to eat when they are projectile vomiting like the bitch from the exorcist, but I have blood sugar levels which I need to maintain. And didn’t… I ate. It wasn’t much but having this 48hr bug I did manage to eat. Every night before bed, I ate Tim Horton’s chicken noodle soup and drank regular,not diet cause of the aspartame and years of having juvenile diabetes years of aspartame has caused migraines and sleep problems, so I avoid it, ginger ale. Also hoping that with regular pop, my sugar level wouldn’t drop too low. Boy was I wrong. Two days in a row, the paramedics were at my house. I guess I thought it was so much fun to have them come over, since I’m anti-social now, that it’d be cool if they came again. Said with sarcasm obviously. My sugar was beyond low…the paramedics couldn’t find a vein nor could they get a pulse. I was ice cold. So cold it felt like my bones were frozen.It actually hurt I was so cold. Thinking I have a pretty amazing guardian angel that comes around when I get too close to the brink of death. Teeth chattering I get to the hospital, chauffeured by the paramedics. 

   At the hospital, the nurse bring me food in hopes to get my blood sugar levels up. Mind you I have the flu and am in no mood to eat. What she brought me to eat, probably wasn’t something somebody with the flu should be eating. Milk.Egg salad sandwich.Peach yogurt. I ask her if she could possibly bring me apple juice because I had the flu and if I drank milk, sure enough, it would come up. She says No, get your milk into you. So I drank the milk and was feeling my sugar rise but couldnt stomach the food. So the nurse brings me jello and more milk…I think she wanted to see me be sick. Anyways I wasn’t there long. The drive home was when I knew milk would be coming up. We had to stop at Shoppers. I left my mark in Shoppers parking lot. Sorry shoppers of Shoppers. My bad. That was day 1 with the paramedics. 

   Day 2 however didn’t require a trip to the hospital. I also started to feel much better. Less flu-ish,My sugar still dropped. I got up afterwards and made a huge supper and went to Wal-mart to let Shay pick out a bday gift…normal daily routine type of stuff. Then in the evening, after Shay was in bed, I couldn’t find a thing to watch on TV, I misplaced my book, so I figured I’d TV marathon it up on Netflix and watch The X Files. Since my internet was being ridiculously slow and kept pausing my show for some reason to reload, I heard Shay cry out in her room. At first I thought it was in her sleep, since she talks in her sleep and she never got up, normally when she has an issue, she has no problems finding me. I mean, I’m mom. Even when I am in the bath, she will barge in and request that I get her a drink, even though I’m in the tub and she is more than capable of accomplishing that task herself. I go check on her. I don’t know how much food can be inside of a 6 almost 7 year old little girl, but it was everywhere. She threw up on her blanket, pillows, stuffed toys, all down herself and I’ve been up all night washing EVERYTHING. Then I realized I haven’t posted in awhile and so far this “New Year” sucks big time,so I figured I’d vent!!! LOL 

                                    Hope everyone’s 2014 started off better than Shaylyn’s and mine. 

 

Image

 

Published in: on January 4, 2014 at 11:48 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theadventuresofjennaandneil.wordpress.com/2014/01/04/2014-came-in-with-the-flu/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Rhea's Updo

All the updos in life, replenished.

Guerilla Glue

Born to DIY

The Tree-hugging Dirt Worshipper

The Ramblings of a Tree-hugging Hippy!

Golden Trout Wilderness

Exploring the Southern Sierra Nevada Mountains

Crazy Little Momma Bird

Just a crazy Momma Bird raising three little chicks.

Craft Me and Family

A look into mom's world

maRRose CCC

Colorful Crochet & Crafts

Thrifty Beginnings

Wedding planning and coordination.

The Toups Address

nutrient dense foods, non-toxic and tranquil living

Sue At Home

Magazine veteran reinventing herself through every creative project she can find

bepaperie

Handcrafted paper inspiration

Lost In Chic

A Lifestyle Blog

Briana Nichele Mateo

inspiration, projects, and much more

Go Khloe

www.wildwitches.com

Classy in Class

Staying Stylish in Sixth Grade Science

The Spirited Mom

Spirited Mom. Spirited Child.

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

nearly enough

Am I enough yet?

altrunomics

altruism meets economics

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

ISA Study Abroad Student Blog

The World Awaits...Discover It.

Natalia Maks

Travel. See. Shoot. Learn.

Ryan Bolton.

Writer. Photographer. Bearded.

Love and a Six-Foot Leash

One family's adventures with America's forgotten dogs.

Mixed Tape Masterpiece

an ode to the songs (and radio stations) that shaped my life

Hear! Hear!

Where there's more to "POP" than meets the ear!

Neely Wang | Photography + Design

San Francisco Marin Sonoma Napa Food and Lifestyle Photographer

Eric E Photo

Nature Inspired: Thoughts & Images

Bug Gwen

Entomology. Ranting. Nerdery.

Bonsai Tonight

An educational website about the styling, care and display of bonsai.

Beetles In The Bush

Experiences and reflections of a Missouri entomologist

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Palm Beach County ... Naturally

Discovering our wonderful County!

Uprooted Magnolia

I am a freelance Photographer born and raised in the Southeast. I have uprooted my life in Macon Georgia for a new life as an unlikely cowgirl in love with a handsome cowboy in Wyoming. I hope you enjoy my photo journal on life, love, and the spirit of Wyoming.

Lee Rentz Photography Weblog

A weblog of the travels and adventures of photographer Lee Rentz

CutterLight

living well off the beaten path

I've become my parents

Things my son needs to know before he grows up to be just like me.

japecake

HUMOR & POPULAR CULTURE & WORDS & AMPERSANDS

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

